Share This
Nuclear Energy Institute
Contact:, 202.739.8000 or 703.644.8805 (after hours and weekends)

Exelon’s Chairman & CEO John Rowe Appointed to Nuclear Energy Institute Board of Directors

WASHINGTON—Exelon Corp. Chairman and Chief Executive Officer John W. Rowe has been elected to the Nuclear Energy Institute’s Executive Committee effective Nov. 1. Rowe, leader of one of the nation’s five largest electric utilities and the largest owner of nuclear power plants, also has been appointed to the NEI Board of Directors effective Nov. 1.

Rowe has led electric utilities since 1984, consecutively serving as chief executive officer of Central Maine Power Co., the New England Electric System, and Unicom Corp. (one of Exelon’s predecessors). Prior to joining the electric utility industry, Rowe was general counsel of Consolidated Rail Corp., and a partner in the law firm of Isham, Lincoln and Beale. Attention to balance sheet strength, earnings consistency, service reliability and environmental performance has been the trademark of Rowe’s business activities.

Rowe is one of three co-chairs of the National Commission on Energy Policy, a bipartisan group of 17 of America’s leading energy experts who have joined together to develop long-term energy policies to enhance national security, strengthen the U.S. economy, and protect the global environment and public health.

Rowe serves on the board of directors for several business and civic organizations. He holds bachelor’s of science and doctor of jurisprudence degrees from the University of Wisconsin and its law school, where he was elected to Phi Beta Kappa and the Order of the Coif, and also is the founder of the Rowe Professorship in Byzantine history.

Oliver D. Kingsley Jr., Exelon president and chief operating officer and a current member of the NEI Board of Directors, is scheduled to retire on Oct. 31.

All U.S. nuclear power plant licensees and selected representatives of other companies involved in nuclear technologies are members of the NEI Board of Directors. Members of the Executive Committee typically serve three-year terms.


The Nuclear Energy Institute is the nuclear energy industry’s policy organization. This news release and additional information about nuclear energy are available on NEI’s Internet site at