Share This
Nuclear Energy Institute
Contact:, 202.739.8000 or 703.644.8805 (after hours and weekends)

Meserve to Lead New NEI Strategic Policy Council

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The Nuclear Energy Institute today announced the formation of an advisory council to assist the organization and its Executive Committee in the development of its policy positions.

The council is comprised of bipartisan leaders who have federal and state government policy expertise. Council members will serve one-year terms and will provide counsel to NEI and its Executive Committee on the following issues: environmental protection, energy security, safety, non-proliferation, finance and labor relations.

“We look forward to working with these thoughtful business and policy leaders, who will provide perspectives of the larger set of communities that must be engaged if we are to collectively meet the tremendous energy and environmental goals that confront our nation,” said Marvin S. Fertel, NEI’s president and chief executive officer.

Gary Gates, president and chief executive officer at Omaha Public Power District and NEI’s chairman, said, “We must have constructive conversations on energy at the federal and state level so that policies enacted both in Washington and in the states provide the direction we need to meet future electricity demand in the most affordable, reliable ways possible. Nuclear energy should be part of a broad approach to meeting these goals.”

The council will be chaired by Richard Meserve, who is president of the Carnegie Institution and former chairman at the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission under Presidents Clinton and Bush. He also serves as the chairman of the International Nuclear Safety Group, which is chartered by the International Atomic Energy Agency.

Other council members include:

Bruce Babbitt, former secretary of the Interior (1993-2001) and Arizona governor (1978-87);

Sherwood Boehlert, who during his 24 years as a New York congressman was chairman of the House Science Committee and earned a reputation for environmental advocacy;

Charles Curtis, president and chief operating officer at the Nuclear Threat Initiative and formerly deputy secretary of energy;

Richard Gephardt, who served half of his 28 years in the U.S. House of Representatives as leader of the Democratic party;

Jamie Gorelick, one of the longest serving deputy attorneys general of the United States and a member of the “9/11 Commission;”

Emil Jones Jr., former president of the Illinois state senate who served in state government for 36 years; and

Joe Knollenberg, who represented Michigan’s 9th district in the U.S. House of Representatives through the 110th Congress and was a member of the House Appropriations Committee.