Share This
Nuclear Energy Institute
Contact:, 202.739.8000 or 703.644.8805 (after hours and weekends)

NEI Re-Elects Progress Energy's Johnson, EFH's Young as Board Leaders

CHARLOTTE, N.C.—The Nuclear Energy Institute has re-elected William D. Johnson, chairman, president and chief executive officer of Progress Energy, as chairman of its board of directors. John F. Young, president and CEO of Energy Future Holdings, has been re-elected vice chairman of the board.

NEI also has elected three new members and re-elected eight members to its board of directors. Two new members were elected to the board’s executive committee, joining three members who were re-elected. The elections took place today at a board of directors meeting preceding NEI’s annual conference.

The newly elected members of NEI’s executive committee, which sets broad policy for the industry, are:

  • William Levis, president and chief operating officer, PSEG Power LLC
  • Caroline A. Reda, president and CEO, GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy.

Re-elected to the executive committee are:

  • Lewis Hay, chairman and CEO, NextEra Energy Inc.
  • William D. Johnson, Progress Energy
  • John F. Young, Energy Future Holdings.

Newly elected to the NEI board of directors are:

  • Jack Edlow, president, Edlow International Co.
  • Gerald Garfield, partner, Day Pitney LLP
  • Yousry Y. Azmy, professor and head, Department of Nuclear Engineering, North Carolina State University.

The re-elected board members are:

  • Edwin Hill, international president, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
  • William P. Hite, general president, United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices
  • Ganpat Mani, president and CEO, ConverDyn
  • George Nash, COO, energy and construction, URS Corp.
  • Michael W. Rencheck, CEO, AREVA NP Inc.
  • Kris P. Singh, president and CEO, Holtec International
  • John K. Welch, president and CEO, USEC Inc.
  • Kiyoshi Yamauchi, president and CEO, Mitsubishi Nuclear Energy Systems Inc.

Executives from all companies that hold licenses to operate nuclear power plants and selected representatives of other companies involved in commercial nuclear technologies are members of the NEI board of directors. Members of the board and its executive committee typically serve three-year terms, and officers are elected annually.

The following NEI officers were re-elected:

  • Marvin S. Fertel, president and CEO
  • Anthony R. Pietrangelo, senior vice president and chief nuclear officer
  • Phyllis M. Rich, senior vice president, chief financial officer, and treasurer
  • Alex Flint and J. Scott Peterson, senior vice presidents
  • Alex Marion, Richard J. Myers and Douglas J. Walters, vice presidents
  • Ellen C. Ginsberg, vice president and secretary
  • Lisa I. Steward, assistant secretary.