Share This
Nuclear Energy Institute
Contact:, 202.739.8000 or 703.644.8805 (after hours and weekends)

Nonproliferation Leader Richard Stratford Receives Smyth Statesman Award

SAN DIEGO—Richard J.K. Stratford, an international leader in nuclear energy safety and nonproliferation policy, was honored today with the Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award.

Stratford is the director of the Office of Nuclear Energy, Safety and Security in the Bureau of International Security and Nonproliferation at the U.S. State Department. In that role, he directs U.S. policy on international nuclear energy issues, export control policies, cooperation agreements, safety and physical protection.

As the officer responsible for the negotiation of nuclear cooperation agreements, he was the head of the U.S. delegation that negotiated the U.S.-India pact for peaceful nuclear cooperation. This agreement ensures cooperation in the peaceful use of nuclear energy and opens up a new market for American nuclear energy technology. He also led U.S. delegations that formed similar agreements with Russia and Jordan.

Stratford is the only person to have chaired the International Atomic Energy Agency’s Committee of the Whole more than once, in 1997 and 2005. In 2006, he was elected chairman of the steering committee of the Nuclear Energy Agency of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.

“Dick Stratford has devoted his career to the safe use of nuclear energy in the United States and globally,” said Marvin S. Fertel, NEI’s chief executive officer and president, who presented the award to Stratford at the American Nuclear Society’s annual meeting. “Our world has embraced commercial nuclear technologies that raise the standard of living for billions of people, and Dick has played a significant role in the safety of that technology worldwide.”

In 1972, the American Nuclear Society and the Nuclear Energy Institute established the Smyth Award to recognize outstanding and statesmanlike work in nuclear energy. The award is named for Henry DeWolf Smyth, the late chairman of the physics department at Princeton University. He served on the Atomic Energy Commission from 1949-54 and was appointed by President Kennedy as the U.S. representative to the International Atomic Energy Agency with the rank of ambassador until 1970. Smyth also advocated an international partnership to develop peaceful uses of nuclear energy.

The Smyth Award is the highest recognition given jointly by ANS and NEI. Its recipient must have international stature in a broad area of the nuclear energy field and must have made significant contributions toward the peaceful uses of nuclear energy.

Stratford was the chief U.S. negotiator at the Convention of Nuclear Safety in the early 1990s and led the talks on the Convention of the Safe Management of Spent Fuel and Radioactive Waste. Before assuming his current position at the State Department, he was deputy assistant secretary of state for nuclear energy and energy technology. Prior to that, Stratford was executive assistant to the ambassador-at-large for nonproliferation policy and nuclear energy affairs.