Share This
Nuclear Energy Institute
Contact:, 202.739.8000 or 703.644.8805 (after hours and weekends)

Nuclear Energy Institute Elects DTE’s Earley Chairman, Progress’s McGehee Vice Chairman

WASHINGTON—The Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI) has elected DTE Energy Co. Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Anthony F. Earley Jr. , as chairman of its board of directors, effective immediately. Earley succeeds W. George Hairston III , chairman of Southern Nuclear Operating Co.

Robert B. McGehee , president and chief executive officer of Progress Energy Inc., has been re-elected vice chairman of the NEI board of directors.

NEI also elected three new members and re-elected two members to its board of directors. One member was re-elected and one new member was elected to the board’s Executive Committee.

The newly elected member of NEI’s Executive Committee, which sets broad policy for the industry, is:

  • James B. Beasley Jr., president and chief executive officer, Southern Nuclear Operating Co.

Re-elected to the Executive Committee is:

  • Michael B. Sellman, president and chief executive officer, Nuclear Management Co. LLC.

Newly elected to the NEI board of directors are:

  • Dr. Lee Dodds, head of the Nuclear Engineering Department and IBM Professor of Engineering, University of Tennessee-Knoxville;
  • John A. Fees, president and chief operating officer, BWX Technologies Inc.; and
  • A.W. (Bud) Wendorf, chairman, president and chief executive officer, Sargent & Lundy.

The re-elected board members are:

  • George D. Turner, president and chief executive officer, American Nuclear Insurers; and
  • Robert E. Prince, president and chief executive officer, Duratek Inc.

All U.S. nuclear power plant licensees and selected representatives of other companies involved in nuclear technologies are members of the NEI board of directors. Members of the board and its Executive Committee typically serve three-year terms, and officers are elected annually.

The following NEI officers were re-elected:

  • Frank L. Bowman, president and chief executive officer;
  • Angelina S. Howard, executive vice president;
  • Marvin S. Fertel, senior vice president and chief nuclear officer;
  • John E. Kane, senior vice president;
  • Michael T. Coyle, Stephen D. Floyd and J. Scott Peterson, vice presidents;
  • Phyllis M. Rich, vice president and treasurer; and
  • Lisa I. Steward, assistant secretary.

The following officer was newly elected:

  • Ellen C. Ginsberg, vice president and secretary, effective June 1. Ginsberg also was named general counsel. Ginsberg succeeds Robert W. Bishop, who announced his retirement as of July 1.

The Nuclear Energy Institute is the nuclear energy industry’s policy organization. This news release and additional information about nuclear energy are available on NEI’s Internet site at