Share This
Nuclear Energy Institute
Contact:, 202.739.8000 or 703.644.8805 (after hours and weekends)

Nuclear Energy Institute Elects Exelon’s Rowe As Chairman, OPPD’s Gates as Vice Chairman

MIAMI—The Nuclear Energy Institute has elected John W. Rowe , chairman, president and chief executive officer of Exelon Corp., as chairman of its board of directors, effective immediately. Rowe succeeds DTE Energy Co. Chairman and CEO Anthony F. Earley Jr. , who remains on NEI’s board of directors and executive committee.

W. Gary Gates , president and CEO of the Omaha Public Power District, has been elected vice chairman of the board, succeeding Rowe.

NEI also elected two new members and re-elected four members to its board of directors. Six members were re-elected and two new members were elected to the board’s executive committee.

The newly elected members of NEI’s executive committee, which sets broad policy for the industry, are Richard J. Smith , president and chief operating officer of Entergy Corp., and Andrew C. White , president and CEO of GE Energy, Nuclear.

Re-elected to the executive committee are:

  • Anthony J. Alexander, president and CEO, FirstEnergy Corp.;
  • Anthony F. Earley Jr.;
  • Mark F. McGettrick, president and CEO, Dominion Generation;
  • James E. Rogers, chairman, president and CEO, Duke Energy Corp.;
  • John W. Rowe; and
  • Mayo A. Shattuck III, chairman, president and CEO, Constellation Energy.

Newly elected to the NEI board of directors are:

  • Steve Creamer, president and CEO, EnergySolutions LLC; and
  • Kirk S. Schnoebelen, president and CEO, Urenco Inc.

The re-elected board members are:

  • Thomas A. Christopher, president and CEO, AREVA NP Inc.;
  • Richard F. Gill, chairman of the executive committee, The Shaw Group Inc.;
  • Gerald W. Grandey, president and CEO, Cameco Corp.; and
  • Stephen R. Tritch, president and CEO, Westinghouse Electric Co.

Executives from all companies that hold licenses to operate nuclear power plants and selected representatives of other companies involved in nuclear technologies are members of the NEI board of directors. Members of the board and its executive committee typically serve three-year terms, and officers are elected annually.

The following NEI officers were re-elected:

  • Frank L. Bowman, president and CEO;
  • Marvin S. Fertel, senior vice president and chief nuclear officer;
  • Alex Flint, senior vice president;
  • Angelina S. Howard, Richard J. Myers, J. Scott Peterson, Anthony R. Pietrangelo and Jay K. Thayer, vice presidents;
  • Ellen C. Ginsberg, vice president and secretary;
  • Phyllis M. Rich, vice president and treasurer; and
  • Lisa I. Steward, assistant secretary.


The Nuclear Energy Institute is the nuclear energy industry’s policy organization. This news release and additional information about nuclear energy are available on NEI’s web site at