Share This
Nuclear Energy Institute
Contact:, 202.739.8000 or 703.644.8805 (after hours and weekends)

Nuclear Energy Institute Re-Elects DTE’s Earley as Chairman, Elects Exelon’s Rowe as Vice Chairman

SAN FRANCISCO—The Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI) has re-elected DTE Energy Co. Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Anthony F. Earley Jr. , as chairman of its board of directors.

John W. Rowe , chairman and chief executive officer of Exelon Corp., has been elected vice chairman of the NEI board of directors. Rowe succeeds Robert B. McGehee , chairman and chief executive officer of Progress Energy Inc.

NEI also elected four new members and re-elected six members to its board of directors. Three members were re-elected and one new member was elected to the board’s Executive Committee.

The newly elected member of NEI’s Executive Committee, which sets broad policy for the industry, is Thomas B. King , president and chief executive officer, Pacific Gas and Electric Co.

Re-elected to the Executive Committee are:

  • Lewis Hay III, chairman, president and chief executive officer, FPL Group Inc.;
  • Robert B. McGehee, chairman and chief executive officer, Progress Energy Inc.; and
  • William J. Post, chairman of the board and chief executive officer, Pinnacle West Capital Corp.

Newly elected to the NEI board of directors are:

  • Ronald E. Ault, president of the Metal Trades Department, AFL-CIO;
  • James J. Graham, president and chief executive officer, ConverDyn;
  • William P. Hite, general president of the United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry of the United States and Canada; and
  • John K. Welch, president and chief executive officer, USEC Inc.

The re-elected board members are:

  • Richard Graves, senior executive, power services, Fluor Enterprises;
  • Louis E. Pardi, president and chief executive officer of power, Washington Group International Inc.;
  • E. James Reinsch, president Bechtel Nuclear, Bechtel Power Corp.;
  • Dr. Kris P. Singh, president and chief executive officer, Holtec International;
  • Robert G. Van Adel, president and chief executive officer, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited; and
  • Andrew C. White, president and chief executive officer, GE Energy, Nuclear.

All U.S. nuclear power plant licensees and selected representatives of other companies involved in nuclear technologies are members of the NEI board of directors. Members of the board and its Executive Committee typically serve three-year terms, and officers are elected annually.

The following NEI officers were re-elected:

  • Frank L. Bowman, president and chief executive officer;
  • Marvin S. Fertel, senior vice president and chief nuclear officer;
  • Alex Flint, senior vice president;
  • Stephen D. Floyd, Angelina S. Howard and J. Scott Peterson, vice presidents;
  • Ellen C. Ginsberg, vice president, general counsel and secretary;
  • Phyllis M. Rich, vice president and treasurer; and
  • Lisa I. Steward, assistant secretary.

The following officers were newly elected:

  • Anthony R. Pietrangelo, vice president, effective July 1. Pietrangelo succeeds Stephen D. Floyd, who announced his retirement as of June 30.
  • Jay K. Thayer, vice president, nuclear operations. Thayer is a loaned executive from Entergy Nuclear and most recently served as site vice president at the Vermont Yankee nuclear power station.

The Nuclear Energy Institute is the nuclear energy industry’s policy organization. This news release and additional information about nuclear energy are available on NEI’s Internet site at